

## Attention Craft Breweries

- Starting July 1, 2022 Nebraska Craft Breweries have a limited self-distribution of 250 barrels to Licensed Nebraska Retailers in areas where the Craft Brewery has no territory agreements with Nebraska Wholesalers
- Please review closely trade practice regulations Chapter 6, 016.
- Please review Keg Registration requirements §53-167.02/167.03 and Rule, Chapter 6, 003.
- Production Records are vital. Source documents must be retained. Batch/brew sheets must be sequentially numbered & preprinted and ending quantities identified.
- Base ingredient invoices must be retained.
- A license application is available online at: <u>https://lcc.nebraska.gov/licensing-forms</u>
- Brewing for personal use is allowable per 53-168.06
- To legally produce beer for resale you must have a valid Nebraska Craft Brewery License and be licensed by the US Department of Treasury Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (TTB). For more information on TTB, their Web Site is <a href="https://www.ttb.gov/">https://www.ttb.gov/</a>

The information provided is for informational purposes only. Please consult the Nebraska Liquor Control Act Statutes and Rules and Regulations or call or write the Commission for interpretation and/or confirmation.

### https://lcc.nebraska.gov

The Nebraska Liquor Control Commission encourages compliance of all regulations and encourages reporting of fraud, waste or abuse. Please submit complaints or tips online: <u>https://lcc.nebraska.gov/contact-us</u> This link can be used for all questions and requests to the Nebraska Liquor Control

Commission.

Forms 35-7127, 36, 37, 38 Rev 6/18

# Craft Brewery Information & Guidelines

301 Centennial Mall South PO Box 95046 Lincoln NE 68509-5046

Phone (402) 471-2571 Fax (402) 471-2814 or 2374 https://lcc.nebraska.gov



# **Craft Brewery License**

- Craft Brewery; rights of license. 20,000 barrels max production. 5 satellite locations, 250 barrel limited self-distribution to Nebraska retail licenses. (53-123.14 & 53-171)
- Designated Territory/Beer Brand(s): Sales territory contract between brewery & wholesaler. 53-123.03; 53-201; 53-123.09. Use required beer territory form on our website.
- Change of operating trade name notification within 30 days. (LCC 2.008.01)
- License year: May 1 April 30. (53-124) A retail license (Class C) license year: Nov 1 Oct 31
- Annual license fees: Craft Brewery-\$250 (L) (53-124.01)
- License to be framed and hung in plain view on the licensed premise. (53-148)
- Transfer of corporate stock of more than 25% shall be reported. (LCC 3.002.04)
- Bond requirements 53-164.01 (6)
- Tax reporting and point of tax 53-164.01 (1) (d)
- State excise tax imposed on all gallons which a federal tax is imposed 53-160 (1)

#### Monthly Tax Filings

- Reports and taxes due the 25<sup>th</sup> of each month. 53-164.01 thru 53-165; accurate & complete records are required
- Gallons reported for tax & tax rates 53-160: Beer - .31 per gallon
- Discounts and Penalties. 53-164.01(3), 53-164.01(4)
- Tax Credit for using Beer-related crops grown in Nebraska. 53-160.03
- Non Taxable Sales: Sales made out-of-state 53-161
- All samples of spirits, wine, beer are taxable. LCC 6.002, 53-123.02
- Hard Cider is reported & taxed as Beer in Nebraska 53-103.03; 53-103.44

# Wholesale/Retail Prohibited Interest

- Shall not pay for any license to sell alcoholic liquor at retail or advance, furnish, lend or give money for payment of such license. 53-169 (includes out-ofstate suppliers/shipping licenses)
- Shall not purchase or become the owner of any note, mortgage or other evidence or indebtedness of such licensee or any form of security. 53-169
- Shall not be interested in the ownership, conduct, or operation of the business of any licensee authorized to sell alcoholic liquor at retail. 53-169
- Shall not be interested directly or indirectly, or as owner, part owner, lessee, or lessor thereof, in any premises upon which alcoholic liquor is sold at retail. 53-169
- Contract between manufacturer/wholesaler and retailer to sell only certain brands is illegal. 53-185

## **Prohibited Acts**

- Selling beer on credit. LLC 6.018.01, 53-168. Extending credit on spirits and wine, not to exceed 30 days. 53-168(1), LCC 6.018.01
- Delivery to unauthorized person prohibited. 53-176
- Storing spirits, wine and beer off licensed premise. 53-123.02 & 53-123.03
- Receiving money, credit, discounts, rebates or other inducement; unlawful acts, penalty. Receiving anything of value. 53-168, LCC6-018

#### **Reports and Records**

- Submission of reports/records. 53-164.01 & 53-165; Evasion 53-164.02
- Retention of records and reports must be retained for a period of three (3) years. LCC 7.002.01

#### Terms Defined (53-103)

<u>Spirits</u> – shall mean any beverage which contains alcohol obtained by distillation...

<u>Wine</u> – shall mean any alcoholic beverage obtained by the fermentation of the natural contents of fruits or vegetables...

<u>Beer</u> – shall mean a beverage obtained by alcoholic fermentation of an infusion or other grain, malt and hops...includes FMB and hard cider...

<u>Near Beer</u> – shall mean beer containing less than one-half of one percent of alcohol by volume...

<u>Brand</u> – shall mean alcoholic liquors which are identified as the product of a specific manufacturer.

Franchise or agreement – shall mean relationship between manufacturer and wholesaler...

<u>Private label</u> – shall mean protected use by wholesaler... <u>Generic label</u> – shall mean not protected by a registered trademark....

<u>Satellite locations</u> – retail locations 100% owned in common with a brewery... LCC, 2, 012.08 <u>Brewpub</u> -- ...produces a maximum of twenty thousand barrels of beer per year...

#### **Things to Remember**

- Advertisement and signs: LCC 6-001
- Near beer: regulated except taxation. 53-160.02
- Beer products: all beer products must be cash basis only at time of delivery. 53-168
- All alcoholic beverages must pass through wholesale licensed premise. LCC 6.010
- Verification and documentation of any shipments from supplier when an overage or shortage is found. 53-165
- Driver/Salesman: Beer truck load out records must be used and retained. This includes company van type vehicles. 53-165
- Beer sales made out of state. 53-161
- Unlimited Self- Distribution to satellite locations only (retail locations 100% owned by Brewery); 5 satellite locations. 250 barrels of selfdistribution to retailers. If exceed max capacity, transition to Manufacturing license. 53-123.01
- Acceptable forms of payment from retailers. LLC6-015