What’s New in the World of
Nebraska Liguor Licenses

Brenda Hiland, Licensing Division Administrator




NLCC - New online processing system!

Went LIVE with our new
online processing system
called POSSE in May 2024.

Clerks DO NOT need to
create a User Account in the
POSSE Customer Portal
unless their local entity
holds a liquor license (e.g.

golf courses).
/

Clerks DO NEED to keep the
Commission updated with
their email address. We
recommend having a group
email address that several
people can have access to.
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““*“:‘L:*D;T‘HE Liquor licenses issued from the
Class C Spirits, Wine, Beer On and Off Sale new software have a new look!
Valid From May 13, 2024 Until Oct 31, 2024
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The licenses include a QR code
I"“"Il that goes to the license

information on our website.
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New Applications

* Applicant will complete application though their POSSE
Customer Portal

* You will receive an email for all applications.

* The Type of ApFlication — New Application, Amendment,
or Renewal will be at the top of the email.

* Thelicense application and attachments will be available
via the link.

* Keep the email with the link to the license application.

* You will need this link to come back to provide your
recommendation.

* The email can be forwarded to other staff.

* The email can be printed for your local hearing.

* Thelink can be copied and pasted in a spreadsheet
for your tracking purposes.

* Thereis no RECEIPT or Recommendation Form to
complete provided by us. You can upload your
Resolution.

From: <lcc.noreply@nebraska.gov>
Date: Mon, Sep 30, 2024 at 4:03 PM
Subject: NLCC Review Required

To: <Icc.frontdesk@nebraska.gov>

Please save this email to provide your recommendation. To review the application documents click
here.

Review Type: Local Review
Job Type: Amendment Application
Job Number: 43577

License Type: Class D Beer, Wine, Spirits Off Sale Only
Secondary Licenses: N/A

Licensee: Brenda’s Bar LLC

Premises Name: Brenda’s Bar

Premises Address: 301 Centennial Mall S, Lincoln, NE 68509
Premises Type: New Application

CLERKS: For New application jobs there are two key time frames to keep in mind:

1) Publicize one time not less than 7 days not more than 14 days prior to date of hearing.

2) You have 45 days to conduct a hearing after the date of receipt of the notice from this
Commission (Nebraska Revised Statute 53-134). You may choose NOT to make a recommendation of
approval or denial to our Commission.

PER NEBRASKA REVISED STATUTE 53-133, THE LIQUOR CONTROL COMMISSION SHALL SET FOR HEARING
ANY APPLICATION WHEREIN:

1) There is a recommendation of denial from the local governing body
2) A citizens protest; or

3) Statutory problems that the Commission discovers.

Thank you,

Nebraska Liquor Control Commission
This is an automated email message. Please do not reply to this email address.



Pay attention to the comments
section forimportant
information regarding the
application.

The Due Date of the
recommendation is at the top
under details.

Publicize in a legal newspaper
in or of general circulation in
your city, town or county one

time; 7-14 days prior to the
date of the hearing. No

specific wording is required
(see renewal wording).

Staff is not able to alter the
application copy. There may
be Additional Information
documents that contain
missing information from the
original Application Copy.

You can download each
document attached to the
application by clicking on the
down arrow under Documents
if you need to print for your
local hearing.

Save the email to provide your
recommendation after the
local hearing.

External Review

Details

Please st comments section for imponant information regarding this

Documents
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After your local
hearing

* Return to the email with the link to the
application after the hearing to
provide your recommendation by
selecting from the drop-down menu.

* Add comments and/or
documents; e.g. Resolution.

Review

Recommendation *

(No selection)

No Lecal Recommendation
Recommend Approval

Recommend Denial

Review Documents

3 Drag & drop Files to upload

SUBMIT




Local payment confirmation

After the license is issued by the LCC, an
email is sent to the clerk to confirm the local
fees and taxes have been paid.

You may need to contact the licensee to pay
local fees.

* New application local fees & taxes can NOT be paid
online

After local fees and applicable occupational
tax iset by local ordinance) are paid; return to
the link in the email to confirm payment has
been received.

All licenses are immediately emailed and
available to download in their POSSE
Customer Portal as soon as you provide
payment confirmation.

No copy of the issued license is sent to the
clerk.

From: <lcc.noreply@nebraska.gov>

Date: Fri, Jan 31, 2025 at 1:29 PM

Subject: Retail Local Payment Confirmation
To: <lcc.frontesk@nebraska.gov>

Job Type: New Application
Job Number: 12345

Review Type: Payment Confirmation Review

Please click here to confirm local fees have been paid. Once you confirm payment the license will be
available to the applicant.

License Number: 124124
License Type: Class D Beer, Wine, Spirits Off Sale Only
Secondary Licenses: N/A

Licensee: BRENDA'’S BAR LLC

Premises Name: BRENDA’S BAR

Premises Address: 301 CENTENNIAL MALL S, LINCOLN, NE 68509
Premises Type: Converted



ANNUAL LICENSE FES 53-124.01
OCCUPATIONAL TAX 53-132(4)(d)

CLASS LICENSE CLASS LICENSE CLASS LICENSE
IYPE FEE IYPE FEE IYPE FEE

A $100 C $300 D $200

AB $200 CG $300 DK $200
ABK $200 CCS $300 I $250

AD $300 CCSG $300 IB $350
ADK $300 CK $300 IBK $350

AK $100 CEKG $300 D $450

B $100 CECS $300 IDE $450

BK $100 CECSG $300 K $250

All license fees recerved by the City/Village or County Treasurer shall be credited to the school fund of the Thstrict or the County per
£53-138.01. The City/Village or the County Clerk may collect occupation taxes as provided for by local ordinance in an amount not to
exceed double the amount of the anmmal license. The license fee and occupational tax shall be prorated on a quarterly basis from the da

of issuance.

CLASSE

CLASST

CLASSK

CLASSL

CLASS LK

CLASS M

CLASSY

CLASS YK

CLASSYC

CLASS Z

CLASS 7K

$300 Entertainment District — license fees collected by local goveming body
(Occupation tax may be collected per §53-123.17 (7))

$50  Limited Alcohol Sales — license fees collected by local goveming body
(INO occupation taxes are to be collected per §53-132 (6))

$100 Catering Endorsement - license fees collected by Commission
(Occupation tax may be collected per §53-124.12 (6))

§250 Craft Brewery (Brew Pub) - license fees collected by Commission
(Occupation tax may be collected per §53-132(4) (d))

$350 Craft Brewery (Brew Pub) with Catering Endorsement

license fees collected by Commission
(Occupation tax may be collected per §53-124.12 (6) and §53-132(4) (d))

$300 Bottle Club — license fees collected by local governing body
(Occupation tax may be collected per §53-132(4) (d))

$250 Farm Winery - license fees collected bv Commission

(Occupation tax may be collected per §53-132(4) (d))

$350 Farm Winery with Catering Permit — license fees collected by Commission
(Occupation tax may be collected per §53-124.12 (6) and §53-132(4) (d))

NO license fees and NO occupation tax collected by Commission or local governing body

§250 Microdistillery — license fees collected by Commission

(Occupation tax may be collected per §53-132(4) (d))

$350 Microdistillery with Catering Endorsement license fees collected by Commission
(Occupation tax may be collected per §53-124.12 (6) and §53-132(4) (d))

Annua

The annual license shall be

credited to the school fund

of the District or the County
per 53-138.01.

*Open discussion

License F

The City/Village/County
clerk may collect
occupation taxes as
provided by local ordinance
in an amount not to exceed
double the amount of the
annual license.

eesS

=
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The license fee and
occupation tax shall be
prorated on a quarterly
bases from the date of

issuance.




Renewals

* AS Cl'erk’ you are responSible to fu"fil'l the NOTICE OF RENEWAL OF RETAIL LIQUOR OR BOTTLE CLUBE LICENSE
re n eWa l n Otl Ce req u I re m e ntS a S Set fo rth I n Notice is hereby given pursuant to section 53-135.01 that a liquor license [or bottle club license] may be automatically renewed for one year from May 1,
. 20..... or November 1, 20...., for the following retail liquor [or bottle club] licensee:
53-135.01 of the Liquor Control Act. e |

(Name of Licensee) (Address of licensed premises)

e Publication shall be made one time between o betore ey 10,20, o A 1020 1 e o fth iy 119 o couty i ot 1t vt e v e o e on ot
Ja n ua ry 1 Oth-SOth for Non—ClaSS C licenses such persons, hearing will be had to determine whether continuation of the license should be allowed.
and July 10th-30th for Class C licenses in a o
legal newspaper in or of general circulation

in your city, town or county.

* You are not required to file a copy of the
notice with the Liquor Commission.

City (village or county) Clerk

* Publication wording for Renewal notice - See
Nebraska Revised Statute 53-135.01



https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=53-135.01

Renewals - Local payment
confirmation

From: lcc.noreply@nebraska.gov

Date: Wed, Feb 1, 2025 at 3:52 PM

Subject: Retail Local Payment Confirmation
To: Brenda.hiland@nebraska.gov

* Local fees can be paid online but are NOT paid within Please click here to confirm local fees have been paid. Once you confirm payment the
POSSE license will be available to the applicant.

* Thelinkis available on our website from the Licensing drop-down menu -
Pay your Local Renewal fees

*  https://www.nebraska.gov/nlcc/renewals/index.cgi

* You must sign up with our payment partner Tyler Job Type: Renewal Application
Technologies to allow licensee to pay local fees and Job Number: 12345
occupational taxes online SubmissionDate: February 1, 2025

* Contact Freddy Pika at Freddy.pika@tylertech.com or 402-471-7891 License Type: Class D, Beer, Wine SpIrItS Off Sale Only

* You may need to contact the licensee to pay local fees. License Number: 123456
. . Licensee: BRENDA’ BAR LLC
* After local fees and applicable occupational tax (set by Premies Name: BRENDA'S BAR

local ordinance) are paid; return to the link in the email to

confirm payment has been received. Premises Address: 301 CENTENNIAL MALL S, LINCOLN, NE 68509

Premises Type: Converted
* Alllicenses are immediately emailed and available for the Review Type: Payment Confirmation Review
licensee to download in their POSSE Customer Portal ype: oy

once you provide payment confirmation. Secondary Licenses: NONE

* No copy of the issued license is sent to the clerk


mailto:Freddy.pika@tylertech.com

Special Designated Licenses (SDL)

* Change in Chapter 2 in May 2024 - Applications for SDLs must be received by the LCC at least seven
working days prior to the date of the event. The 7-day calendar is posted to our website here -

https://lcc.nebraska.gov/special-designated-license

* SDL applications must be approved by the local governing body before the applicant applies with the
LCC. The applicant must upload your approval with their application.
* Applicantto complete SDL — Local Recommendation form and present to the city/village/county for approval
* Qutdoordiagram — Must be submitted for all applications with an outdoor area.
* Double fencing waiver for Non-Profit applicants is no longer required.

* Payment confirmation emails are sent the same way as Retail Licenses.
*  You must confirm payment has been received even if you do not charge a fee for the SDL.

* Alist of all licenses pending payment confirmation are posted to our website -
https://lcc.nebraska.gov/clerks-information

* Alistof issued SDLs are posted to our website - https://lcc.nebraska.gov/special-designated-license.
* No copies of issued licenses are sent to the clerk.


https://lcc.nebraska.gov/special-designated-license
https://lcc.nebraska.gov/sites/default/files/doc/SDL%20LOCAL%20RECOMMENDATION_0.pdf
https://lcc.nebraska.gov/sites/default/files/doc/SDL%20Outdoor%20Diagram.pdf
https://lcc.nebraska.gov/clerks-information
https://lcc.nebraska.gov/special-designated-license

Enforcement Division

o

Submit a Complaint

* Complaints can be submitted though the
POSSE Customer Portal without creating
a User Account

* Enterthe Complaint Description
* Select Type of Complaint from the

drop-down Submit a complaint about a license or premises.
* Enter Address of Premises

* Enter Contact Information
* Can be “Anonymous” SUBMIT COMPLAINT




Legal Division

 Hearing Agenda & Results are posted to our website; e.g. If an application is set for a show
cause hearing to determine if the license should be issued or cancelled

* https://lcc.nebraska.gov/hearings-agendas-results

Hearing and Agenda Results

2025 RESULTS
January Hearings Agenda
February Hearings Agenda

March Hearings Agenda Late Agenda


https://lcc.nebraska.gov/hearings-agendas-results

Suspension & Fine Payments

Order License

. .
* Listed on our website - owe 4 oo
2/12/2025 C-88667 Sin City Grill Grand Island  Cancelled effective: March 14, 2025
[ ]
https://lcc.nebraska.gov/suspe s ¢ Hesldsen omats Cancelld ffecive: March 13, 2025
" ~ " 125320
. .
n S | O n - D avr r I e n t_fl n e S 2/6/2025  D- Speedee Mart 2722 Greenwood  Suspended 20 days, March 24, 2025 - April 12, 2025 PAID
7 125819
2/6/2025 C- Tiki Time Plattsmouth Suspended 5 days, March 24, 2025 - March 28, 2025 PAID
* Mandatory closure dates are
N I ur I
2/6/2025 D- NP Mart 24 Hartington Suspended 5 days, March 24, 2025 - March 28, 2025
shown and always start on
2/6/2025 D- Safeway 556 Scottsbluff Suspended 5 days, March 24, 2025 - March 28, 2025 PAID
Monda
y 2/6/2025 C- Little Ted's Pub & Grill Nebraska Suspended 5 days, March 24, 2025 - March 28, 2025 PAID
116956 City
® If l I I a r ke d PAI D t h e n n O 2/6/2025 1123207 House of R Omaha Suspended 5 days, March 24, 2025 - March 28, 2025
. . . d 2/5/2025 D- East O Watering Hole Scottsbluff Mandatory Closure: March 24, 2025 and March 25, 2025; PAID
S u S p e n S I O n I S re q u I re 121934 Additional Suspended 40 days: March 26, 2025 - May 5, 2025
2/5/2025 D- Walmart Market 3154 Bellevue *Temporary Stay* Mandatory Closure: March 24, 2025 and

102335 March 25, 2025; Additional Suspended 20 days: March 26,

* Licenses Cancelled by Order



https://lcc.nebraska.gov/suspension-payment-fines
https://lcc.nebraska.gov/suspension-payment-fines

Licensee Information

Please go to our new software at this link: https.//posse-lcc.nebraska.gov/prodfiwebui/

e Each person that needs access to a Click on "LOG IN/REGISTER" and then "Sign up now” to register with your email address. You will be sent
. . . a verification code to your email address to activate your User Name. After you enter the code; you will
l| cense wi ll. nee d to create th elir own create your password to access your account. Follow these instructions for authentication.
useraccountin th e POSS E C ustomer 1. After registening and logging into the software, please click on your name in the upper right-hand
Portal. comer and select "My Profile”.
. . ; 2. On your MY PROFILE page, there are two tabs: "DETAILS" and "LICENSEE / AGENT". Click on
* Each licensee is assigned an "LICENSEE / AGENT".
H 3. Input your Access Code 1A2-3BC-45D and click on "ASSOCIATE" to link your license(s) to the User
Access Code th.at associates the Name that you just created.
user account with the licensee _ N - o
Avideo containing the above instructions for registering on the Customer Portal can be found
e Multi p le User Accounts can be at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jm6ORKUXORU.
l.| n ked W|t h eac h l.| censee. Flease call our office if you have any questions Monday-Friday 8 am to 5 pm. Our front desk is 402-471-

2571.
* User training videos can be found on

our website -
https://lcc.nebraska.gov/customer-
portal-training-videos



https://lcc.nebraska.gov/customer-portal-training-videos
https://lcc.nebraska.gov/customer-portal-training-videos

License information

* Licenses need to be printed, framed and hung in plain view in a conspicuous place on the
licensed premises per Nebraska Revised Statute 53-148

You will need to print your license from your POSSE customer poral.
1. Click on the license number in your Dashboard under Issued Licenses.
2. Scroll to the bottom of the page under Documents.
3. Click on the downward arrow on the right side to download your license
4. Youmust print your license to be framed & hung in plain view in a conspicuous place on the licensed premises.

Documents

Dopumen Type Approved Dase

License Certificate Oct 23, 2024 &


https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=53-148

e _ o * Endorsements are now called Secondary Licenses
Ad d Itl O n a l * Catering, Growler, Cigar Shops
* Entertainment District license are now Secondary Licenses

I nfo r m atl O n * “Job #”is assigned when the application is filed

* The “License #” is assighed when the license is issued
« ATemporary Operating Permit is assigned the
license number when the TOP is issued.

* Manager changes, Additions, Deletions, Reconstructions and
Change of Locations are now called “Amendments”

* Active License Roster is uploaded to our website in Excel
format - https://lcc.nebraska.gov/active-license-roster

* Ifyou need a list with email addresses, please contact
our office.

Licenses pending payment confirmation list is uploaded to our
website - https://lcc.nebraska.gov/clerks-information



https://lcc.nebraska.gov/active-license-roster
https://lcc.nebraska.gov/clerks-information
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