
  

The information provided is for informational 
purposes only.  Please consult the Nebraska 
Liquor Control Act Statutes and Rules and 

Regulations or call or write the Commission 
for interpretation and/or confirmation. 

 

https://lcc.nebraska.gov 

 

The Nebraska Liquor Control Commission 
encourages compliance of all regulations and 
encourages reporting of fraud, waste or abuse.  

Please submit complaints or tips online:  
https://lcc.nebraska.gov/contact-us 

This link can be used for all questions and 
requests to the Nebraska Liquor Control 

Commission. 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Form 35-7145, 47, 50, 55, 56                                                                           
Rev 6/18 

  

A license application is available online at:   
https://lcc.nebraska.gov/licensing-forms 

 
Distilling for personal use is illegal in the State 

of Nebraska 53-1,100 (2) 
“Any person who manufactures spirits at any 
place within the state without first obtained a 
valid license to do so under the act shall be 
guilty of a Class I misdemeanor for a first 

offense and a Class IV felony for a second or 
subsequent offense.” 

 
To legally produce spirits in Nebraska you 

must have a valid Nebraska Micro Distillery 
License and be licensed by the US Department 
of Treasury – Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and 

Trade Bureau (TTB) as a DSP.  For more 
information on TTB, their Web Site is 

https://www.ttb.gov/ 
 

*Please review closely trade practice 
regulations Chapter 6, 016. 
*Production Records are vital.  Source 
documents must be retained.  Batch/distilling 
sheets must be sequentially numbered & 
preprinted and ending quantities identified.  
 
*Base ingredient invoices must be retained. 

 

 

 

Micro Distillery 

Information & 

Guidelines 

 
301 Centennial Mall South 

  PO Box 95046 

  Lincoln NE  68509-5046 

 

  Phone (402) 471-2571 

  Fax (402) 471-2814 or 2374 

  https://lcc.nebraska.gov  

 

 

 

http://www.lcc.nebraska.gov/
https://lcc.nebraska.gov/contact-us
https://lcc.nebraska.gov/licensing-forms
https://www.ttb.gov/
https://lcc.nebraska.gov/


 

Micro Distillery License 

• Microdistillery defined; max 100,000 gallons 
53-103.22 

• Microdistllery, rights of licensee  53-123.16 

• Change of operating trade name notification 
within 30 days. (LCC 2.008.01) 

• License year: May 1 - April 30.   (53-124)   
        If Class C, Nov 1 – Oct 31 

• Annual license fees: Micro Distillery-$250 (Z) 
53-124.01 

• Limitations 53-169; 53-171 

• License to be framed and hung in plain view on 
the licensed premise. (53-148) 

• Transfer of corporate stock of more than 25% 
shall be reported. (LCC 3.002.04) 

• Bond requirements 53-164.01 (6) 

• Duties & other 53-132; 53-129; 53-131; 53-
133; 53-134 

• Ready-to-drink cocktail, defined 53-103.49 

• Farmers Market 53-103.48; 53-124.16; 53-
124.17 

• Satellite Locations Permitted up to 8 separate 
locations 53-123.16 

• Self-distribution is permitted for up to 3,500 
gallons per year 

Monthly Tax Filings 

• Reports and taxes due the 25th of each month 
53-164.01 thru 53-165; accurate & complete 
records are required 

• Gallons reported for tax 53-160                          
        Spirits -  $3.75 per gallon (liquid gallon) 

• Discounts and Penalties. 53-164.01(3), 53-
164.01(4) 

• Non Taxable Sales: Sales made out-of-state 53-
161 

• All samples of spirits, wine, beer are taxable.  
LCC 6.002, 53-123.02 

 

Wholesale/Retail Prohibited Interest 

• Shall not pay for any license to sell alcoholic 
liquor at retail or advance, furnish, lend or give 
money for payment of such license. 53-169 
(includes out-of-state suppliers/shipping 
licenses) 

• Shall not purchase or become the owner of any 
note, mortgage or other evidence or 
indebtedness of such licensee or any form of 
security. 53-169 

• Shall not be interested in the ownership, 
conduct, or operation of the business of any 
licensee authorized to sell alcoholic liquor at 
retail. 53-169 

• Shall not be interested directly or indirectly, or 
as owner, part owner, lessee, or lessor thereof, 
in any premises upon which alcoholic liquor is 
sold at retail. 53-169 

• Contract between wholesaler and retailer to sell 
only certain brands is illegal. 53-185 
 

Prohibited Acts 

• Extending credit on spirits and wine, not to 
exceed 30 days. 53-168(1), LCC 6.018.01 

• Delivery to unauthorized person prohibited. 
53-176 

• Storing spirits, wine and beer off licensed 
premise. 53-123.02 & 53-123.03 

• Receiving money, credit, discounts, rebates or 
other inducement; unlawful acts, penalty. 
Receiving anything of value. 53-168, LCC6-
018 

 

Reports and Records 

• Submission of reports. 53-164.01 & 53-165 

• Retention of records and reports must be 
retained for a period of three (3) years. LCC 
7.002.01 

 

 
Terms Defined (53-103) 

Spirits – shall mean any beverage which contains 
alcohol obtained by distillation… 
Wine – shall mean any alcoholic beverage obtained 
by the fermentation of the natural contents of fruits or 
vegetables… 
Beer – shall mean a beverage obtained by alcoholic 
fermentation of an infusion or other grain, malt and 
hops… 
Near Beer – shall mean beer containing less than one-
half of one percent of alcohol by volume… 
Brand – shall mean alcoholic liquors which are 
identified as the product of a specific manufacturer. 
Franchise or agreement – shall mean relationship 
between manufacturer and wholesaler… 
Private label – shall mean protected use by 
wholesaler… 
Generic label – shall mean not protected by a 
registered trademark… 
Micro Distillery – distillery located in Nebraska 
licensed to distill liquor 10,000 gallons or fewer. 

 

Things to Remember 

• Dock sales: signature required of retailer or 
retailers agent. LCC 6.012.01 

• Advertisement and signs: LCC 6-001 

• All alcoholic beverages must pass through 
wholesale licensed premise. LCC 6.010 

• Spirit/wine products: must be paid within 30 days. 
53-168 

• Sales invoices must be signed 53-165 

• Micro Distilleries may apply for SDL 53-124.11 & 
may apply for Catering endorsement 53-124.12 

• Only one license; cannot wholesale 53-171 

• Acceptable forms of payment from retailers. 
LLC6-015 

• Production Records are vital.  Source 
documents must be retained.  Batch sheets 
must be sequentially numbered (preprinted) 
and be identified when bottling.  

• Base ingredient invoices must be retained. 

• Sales to a person in a motor vehicle 53-
178.01(2)(a) 

 


