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General Instructions  

Craft Breweries, Brewpubs, or Micro 

Breweries are required to submit a monthly 

excise tax return to the Nebraska Liquor 

Control Commission – Revenue Division 

regardless of activity or not. 

 

Per State Statute 53-164.01 (d) A craft brewery 

shall, on or before the twenty-fifth day of each 

calendar month following the month in which the 

beer was released from bond for sale, submit a 

report to the commission on forms furnished by the 

commission showing the total amount of beer in 

gallons or fractional parts thereof produced for 

sale by the craft brewery during the preceding 

calendar month. 

 

All forms are required to be filled out and 

submitted correctly every month.  Currently 

there are three forms required for a 

complete return.  They are forms 35-7127, 

35-7136, and 35-7137.  These forms are 

filled out for the previous reporting month 

(ex. May 1 – May 31, reporting in June). 

 

Form 35-7127 
Line 1: This is the total gallon amount of 

beer released from your federally bonded 

area for the reporting month.  

Line 2: Tax-Exempt.  Any Out-Of-State 

shipments of your product.  Must reconcile 

with form 35-7136.  ALL INVOICES AND 

BILL OF LADINGS ARE REQUIRED.   

Note: If you do not provide all invoice and 

Bill of Ladings this amount will be taxable 

and you will be responsible for any extra 

payments required from the taxable 

product. 

Line 3: Any other or miscellaneous + or - 

amounts go here.  PROVIDE 

DOCUMENTATION. 

Line 4: The total amount of gallons of the 

previous 3 lines. Line 1 minus Line 2, +/- 

Line 3. 

Line 5: Multiply Line 4 by $0.31. 

Line 6: Multiply Line 5 by $0.01. 

Line 7: Line 5 minus Line 6. 

Line 8: Enter in any previous tax 

adjustments or credits from previous 

months here. 

Line 9: Total amount of tax due after your 

1% discount and any adjustments or 

credits. 

Line 10: The rounded whole dollar amount 

of Line 9.  $0.49 and below, please round 

down to the nearest whole dollar.  $0.50 

and up, please round up to the nearest 

whole dollar (ex. $4.67>$5.00, 

$4.38>$4.00).  THIS IS THE AMOUNT YOU 

PAY IN PAYPORT.  

 
 
 

Form 35-7136 
-List monthly Out-of-State shipments in 

this area.  This includes all beer sales to 

Out-of-State Shippers, Manufacturers, 

etc.  Please report in GALLONS (Do not 

round gallons). 

-Attach additional pages as needed.  

Additional pages must include all 

information required on original forms. 

-Total all gallons in ‘Grand Total’.  This is 

your Line 2 amount on Form 35-7127. 

 

Note: All invoices and Bill of Ladings are 

required documentation for Form 35-

7136 for you to take the tax exemption.  

Failure to provide these documents will 

result in no tax exemption and you will be 

responsible for any extra taxes due. 

 

Form 35-7137 
-List monthly Nebraska Wholesale sales 

in this area.  Please report in GALLONS 

(Do not round gallons). 

-Invoices ARE REQUIRED documentation. 

-Attach additional pages as needed.  

Additional pages must include all 

information required on original forms. 

-Total all gallons in ‘Grand Total’. 

 
Invoices  
Must include the following: Invoice date, 

Invoice number, number of cases, size, 

product description, and total invoice 

gallons. 

 

Due date 

All excise tax returns and payments are 

due by the 25th of each month via mail, 

email or fax. 

 

If the due date falls on a weekend or 

holiday, returns and payments received 

the next business day are considered 

timely. 

 

If reports or payments are deemed late, 

the 1% discount will not be allowed and 

you will be assessed a Penalty and 

Interest charge. 

 

Note: If mailing reports, they must be postmarked 

by the 25th of the month to be considered on 

time. 

 

Penalties and Interest 

Any reports not submitted or postmarked 

by the 25th of every month will be 

assessed a Penalty and Interest charge.   

 

The 1% discount is not redeemable on 

late reports or payments. 

The following penalties will be assessed on 

the Gross Tax due: 1 to 5 days late, 3 

percent; 6 to 10 days late, 6 percent; and 

over 10 days late, 10 percent.  

 

In addition, interest on the tax shall be 

collected at the rate of 1 percent per 

month, or fraction of a month, from the 

date the tax became due until paid.  

 

We will assess any penalty and interest you 

may accrue. 

 

Payment Options 

Payport – The most commonly used way to 

pay Excise Taxes and other fees/costs. 

http://www.ne.gov/go/NLCCpayport 

 

Nebraska.gov – You can become 

Nebraska.gov subscribers and pay a $50 

annual fee.  Please see your Welcome 

Packet for further Nebraska.gov 

instructions. 

 

Additional Information 

Cider was classified as a beer as of July 1, 

2015 and you must report it as such.  8.5% 

and up is classified as wine, and 8.4% and 

below is classified as beer. 

 

If there is no reportable activity for a 

reporting month, please fill out the forms 

and submit with zeros. 

 

TTB forms 5000.24, 5130.26 or 5130.9 

and a copy of your Year End Inventory are 

due with your December return. 

 

Any questions or comments regarding 

these forms can be directed to 

nlcc.craftfarmicrodesk@nebraska.gov. 

 

If you do not know the answer or are 

unsure of something, please call our office.  

This is to ensure you are submitting correct 

reports every month and do not have to 

resubmit forms or resubmit payments.   

 

Nebraska Liquor Control Commission 

402-471-2571 

402-471-2814 (FAX) 
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