
   

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The information provided is for informational 

purposes only.  Please consult the Nebraska 

Liquor Control Act Statutes and Rules and 

Regulations or call or write the Commission 

for interpretation and/or confirmation. 

 

http://lcc.nebraska.gov 

 

The Nebraska Liquor Control Commission 

encourages compliance of all regulations and 

encourages reporting of fraud, waste or abuse.  

Please submit complaints or tips online:  

https://lcc.nebraska.gov/contact-us 

This link can be used for all questions and 

requests to the Nebraska Liquor Control 

Commission. 
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Things to Remember 

 Acceptable forms of payment from retailers. 

LLC6-015 

 Beer; credit for tax paid; when allowed 53-161 

 

Attention Wholesalers 

The Commission advises the Nebraska wholesaler regarding  

brand-stamped refrigerators and freezers or other equipment 

as follows:  Equipment must be leased for a reasonable fee 

and there must be some type of documentation confirming the 

arrangement.  Documentation must be signed by both parties 

and well documented regarding time frame, lease terms, etc.  

The units must be leased on a temporary basis meaning the 

lease must be renewed with a timeframe no greater than 1 

year.  There must be a beginning/ending term stated in the 

lease.  The rental fee must be representative of fair market 

value and defendable.     

Please review closely trade practice regulations Chapter 

6.016.03A and 016.03B Equipment and Supplies.  Good 

accounting and record keeping over draft equipment shall be 

in place to include but not limited to: 1) Name & License 

number of retailer, 2) indicate on the record if it was a 

replacement of competitors handle, 3) repair to any on-

premise set up and costs, 4) retailers payment-check# and 

copy of check or some traceable document. 

The Commission expects an accounting record of installed 

tap line equipment. The audit review may also include when 

you as a wholesaler purchased the equipment from a vendor, 

current inventory on tap equipment and of course placement.   

Please review the acceptable and non-acceptable reasons 

for returns from retailers under TTB regulations, 

(https://www.ttb.gov/).  The Nebraska Liquor Control 

Commission mirrors these regulations under the authority 

of Statute 53-168 paragraph 1, 53-169 paragraph C and 

LCC 6-018. 

All alcoholic beverage samples received from a licensed 

shipper (or within the limit provided in 53-123.15) must 

be brought into your floor inventory and accounted for.   

 

Wholesaler Information 

& 

Guidelines 

 
301 Centennial Mall South 

  PO Box 95046 

  Lincoln NE  68509-5046 

 

  Phone (402) 471-2571 

  Fax (402) 471-2814 or 2374 

  https://lcc.nebraska.gov  

 

 

 

http://www.lcc.nebraska.gov/
https://lcc.nebraska.gov/contact-us
https://www.ttb.gov/
https://lcc.nebraska.gov/


 

Wholesale License 

 Wholesaler shall NOT have any interest directly or 

indirectly with a retail license. (53-169 & 53-171) 

 Designated Territory/Beer Brand(s):  Sales territory 

contract between supplier & wholesaler. 53-123.03; 

53-201; 53-123.09. Use required beer territory form 

on our website. 

 Change of operating trade name notification within 

30 days. (LCC 2.008.01) 

 License year: May 1 - April 30.   (53-124)   

 Annual license fees: Wholesale Spirit &  

Wine-$795 (X); Wholesale Beer-$545 (W) 

 License to be framed and hung in plain view on the 

licensed premise. (53-148) 

 Rights of Spirit & Wine Wholesalers. (53-123.02) 

 Rights of Beer Wholesalers. (53-123.03) 

 Transfer of corporate stock of more than 25% shall 

be reported. (LCC 3.002.04) 

 Bond requirements 53-164.01 (6) 

Monthly Tax Filings 

 Reports due the 15th and taxes due the 25th of   each 

month. 53-164.01 thru 53-165 

 Tax Rates 53-160: Beer - $.31 per gallon,                 

Wine - $.95 per gallon, Spirits - $3.75 per gallon 

 Discounts and Penalties. 53-164.01(3), 53-

164.01(4); tax due for beer, when received by 

manufacturer, 53-164.01(1b); tax due for wine & 

spirits, when sold to licensed retailers,  53-164.01(2) 

 Non Taxable Sales: Sacramental Wine Sales 53-160 

(3), Military Sales 53-160.01, Sales made out-of-

state 53-161, Non-Beverage user 53-123.07, 53-160 

(4) 

 All samples of spirits, wine, beer are taxable.  LCC 

6.002, 53-123.02 

 Retail pricing for beer can include delivery; Retail 

pricing for wine & spirits cannot.  A separate charge 

for delivery must be on invoice.  53-123.02/53-

123.03 

 

Wholesale/Retail Prohibited Interest 

 Shall not pay for any license to sell alcoholic liquor 

at retail or advance, furnish, lend or give money for 

payment of such license. 53-169 (includes out-of-

state suppliers/shipping licenses) 

 Shall not purchase or become the owner of any note, 

mortgage or other evidence or indebtedness of such 

licensee or any form of security. 53-169 

 Shall not be interested in the ownership, conduct, or 

operation of the business of any licensee authorized 

to sell alcoholic liquor at retail. 53-169 

 Shall not be interested directly or indirectly, or as 

owner, part owner, lessee, or lessor thereof, in any 

premises upon which alcoholic liquor is sold at 

retail. 53-169 

 Contract between wholesaler and retailer to sell only 

certain brands is illegal. 53-185 

 

Prohibited Acts 

 Selling beer on credit. LLC 6.018.01, 53-168. 

Extending credit on spirits and wine, not to exceed 

30 days. 53-168(1),                LCC 6.018.01 

(Retailers delinquent must be reported to the 

Commission) 

 Delivery to unauthorized person prohibited. 53-176 

 Beer wholesaler; delivery outside of territory. 53-

123.09 

 Storing spirits, wine and beer off licensed premise. 

53-123.02 & 53-123.03 

 Receiving money, credit, discounts, rebates or other 

inducement; unlawful acts, penalty. Receiving 

anything of value. 53-168, LCC6-018 

 

Reports and Records 

 Submission of reports. 53-164.01 & 53-165 

 Retention of records and reports must be retained 

for a period of three (3) years. LCC 7.002.01 

 
Terms Defined (53-103) 

 Spirits – shall mean any beverage which contains alcohol 

obtained by distillation… 

 Wine – shall mean any alcoholic beverage obtained by the 
fermentation of the natural contents of fruits or 

vegetables… 

 Beer – shall mean a beverage obtained by alcoholic 
fermentation of an infusion or other grain, malt and 

hops…includes FMB and hard cider… 

 Near Beer – shall mean beer containing less than one-half 
of one percent of alcohol by volume… 

 Brand – shall mean alcoholic liquors which are identified 

as the product of a specific manufacturer. 

 Franchise or agreement – shall mean relationship between 

manufacturer and wholesaler… 

 Private label – shall mean protected use by wholesaler… 

 Generic label – shall mean not protected by a registered 
trademark… 

 Satellite locations – retail locations 100% owned in 

common with a brewery… LCC 2, 012.08 
 

Things to Remember 

 Dock sales: signature required of retailer or retailers agent. 
LCC 6.012.01 

 Advertisement and signs: LCC 6-001 

 Near beer: regulated except taxation. 53-160.02 

 Beer products: all beer products must be cash basis only at 

time of delivery. 53-168; LCC 6-015.10&11 

 All alcoholic beverages must pass through wholesale 
licensed premise. LCC 6.010 

 Spirit/wine products: must be paid within 30 days. 53-168 

 Sales invoices must be signed by rep of wholesaler and rep 

of retailer. 53-165 

 Verification and documentation of any shipments from 

supplier when an overage or shortage is found. 53-165 

 Driver/Salesman: Beer truck load out records must be used 
and retained.  This includes company van type vehicles. 

53-165 

 Beer sales made out of state. 53-161 

 Quantity Discounts, Beer LCC6-018.01G 
 

 


