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INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING  
NEBRASKA LIQUOR CONTROL COMMISSION  

DIRECT SHIPPER EXCISE TAX RETURN 
Form 35-7140 

PLEASE TYPE OR PRINT 
 

DIRECT SHIPPER NAME AND ADDRESS   Enter Name and Address as it appears on your 
Shipper License 
 
LICENSE NUMBER   Enter License Number that appears on your Shipper License 
 
TAX PERIOD Tax Period is from January 1 through December 31 of each year 
 
REPORTING   Reports and Excise Taxes are due on or before JANUARY 25TH of each year for 
the preceding year.  A report shall be submitted for each licensee, even those with zero 
balances.  Invoices or a Computer Generated Print Out is required for all sales reported.  
Please refer to #8 below for further instructions regarding documentation. * 
 
1.  Total Gallons Sold to Consumers  (USE 4 DECIMAL PLACES) 
On the enclosed Shipper Tax Return enter the Gallons shipped and sold to the final consumer by 
alcohol class/type, i.e., beer, spirits, wine.  Documentation required, See #8 below.  (Note page 
totals and a grand total are required.) 
 
2.  Tax Rate Per Gallon For Each Class 
Multiply the specific gallons times the rate indicated on the form, i.e., Wine Gallons times $ .95, 
Spirit Gallons  times $3.75 and Beer Gallons times $.31. 
 
3.  Total Amount of Tax Due on Each Class 
Enter the Gross Tax Due for each class and round to two decimals, for example total for spirits are 
125.336 Gallons round to 125.34 Gallons 
 
4.  Gross Excise Tax Due On All Classes 
Enter total gross taxes due which equals the total of line three across. 
 

5.  Less 1% Discount* 

Multiply gross taxes due by 1%, round to two decimals. 
 
6.  Net Excise Tax Due 
Take the gross tax due on line 4 and minus the 1% discount on line 5 and round to the nearest 
dollar. 
 
Examples:   Net Tax owed $10.50 Round to $11.00 
                    Net Tax owed $10.49 Round to $10.00  
 
7. Signature 
Please print name, sign form and provide telephone # and email address for contact info. 
 
8.  DOCUMENTATION  

Documentation of all sales is required. A Sales Invoice Register or Computer Printout is 
required for all sales.  The data required includes: 
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1. Bill to Name and Address 
2. Shipped to Name and Address 
3. Products Sold 
4. Product Sizes and Gallons 
5. Date Shipped 
6. Total Gallons per Invoice Register or Computer Printout shall reconcile to Line 1  on 

Form 35-7140 (page totals and a grand total are required) 
 
UNDER THE NEBRASKA LIQUOR CONTROL ACT STATUTE 53-194.03  
(1) It shall be unlawful for any person to transport, import, bring, ship, or cause to be transported, 
imported, brought or shipped into the State of Nebraska for the personal use of the possessor, his or 
her family, or guests a quantity of alcoholic liquor in excess of nine liters in any one calendar month.  
(2) Alcoholic liquor transported, brought, or shipped into the State of Nebraska in violation of this 
section shall be seized by the commission and disposed of in the manner provided for contraband.  
Any person violating this section shall be guilty of a Class IV misdemeanor.  

 
*TO RECEIVE AND DEDUCT THE 1% DISCOUNT ON FORM 35-7140: 

THE ANNUAL DIRECT SHIPPER EXCISE TAX RETURN AND APPLICABLE 
EXCISE TAXES OWED,  MUST BE MAILED (POSTMARKED) ON OR BEFORE 
JANUARY 25TH. 
 
MAILING AND CONTACT INFORMATION: NEBRASKA LIQUOR CONTROL COMMISSION  
       301 CENTENNIAL MALL SOUTH, PO BOX 95046 

LINCOLN NE 68509-5046 
402-471-2571 MAIN # 
402-471-4883 Revenue Division 
402-471-2814 Fax 
www.lcc.ne.gov/  (Go to Revenue Tab) 
email:  nlcc.spiritwinedesk@nebraska.gov 
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